7th Street – East to the future

When I think of my neighborhood 5 years ago I am shocked at the transformation. From a rough and tumble neighborhood with few restaurants, the hood has been transformed. The U, Florida, Vermont Triangle is becoming a restaurant row and local bars seem to pop up everywhere.

If someone asked me what will be the next area to pop (besides H Street) I would have to say lower Ledroit / Shaw / Bloomingdale. The UNCF headquarters at 7th & T plus the new Giant and condos at 7th & O will both make this the neighborhood to be in. The Shaw Metro stop is in the heart of the hood and it has great driving access on Rhode Island, 7th, 9th and New York.  If I were going to buy for the next 5 years. I woudl definitely look to this area. Check out some of the new buildings: Bailey Haven Lofts, The New Giant Complex and the UNCF building

Leave a Reply

